Background on South Africa

South Africa has nine provinces that cover a total of 1,227,200 km squared. There are eleven official languages: Afrikaans, English, Nolebele, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Swali, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu. South Africa has one of the most complex and diversified population mixes in the world, a rich mosaic of distinctive cultures. Not one of South Africa's languages is spoken by a majority of the people.

South Africa has a modern, well-diversified economy in which agriculture, mining, secondary industry, commerce and a broad structure of service establishments contribute to the wealth of the nation.

In 1994, South Africa had its first free election, ending almost 50 years of apartheid and hundreds of years of oppression. Children in South Africa are particularly vulnerable to the changes occurring because of the recent happenings with apartheid. Most of the schools have double and triple sessions each day and students are packed into huge classes.

The two sites I used are:

Click here to get back to lesson plan